Home > The cable solution > The standard

According to standard TIA/EIA 568-C.2

For Categories 5E, 6 and 6A

Categories 6A, 6 and 5E introduce interoperability for cabling systems: it is the guarantee that the end user will be able to assemble components from different brands, as long as they are certified category 6A, 6 and 5E by the respective manufacturers, and that a complete category 5e, 6 or 6A link will also be achieved (Channel link)

To guarantee the performance of these categories, the standard specifies the characteristics of each of the components, particularly those of RJ45 cables, which are an important part of the overall connection.

The categories are backward-compatible. Therefore, an old 5E network is often significantly improved by equipping it with 6A cables.

Extract from the standard

Telecommunications cabling, once specified uniquely for each telecommunications application, has evolved into a generic cabling system. Telecommunications applications now use ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-B1 to specify their cabling requirements. This has resulted in the continued developpement of high-speed applications and demonstrated the need for improved transmission performance and higher categories of twisted pair cabling.

The requirements in this standard are for 100 Homs category 6A balanced twisted pair cabling systems and components. Category 6A cabling provides higher performance than category 6 and 5e and recognizes advances in cabling technology. Category 6A shall be backward compatible with categories 3, 5 and 5e as specified in ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-B.1, categories 6 as specified in ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-B.2, ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-C.2 for cat 6A (June 2009). Application running on the lower category cabling shall be supported by category 6A.

And more specifically:

Category 6A is a standard for a 10-Gigabit (10GbE) Ethernet on copper. The standard defines data transmission at 10 gigabits/s on a twisted pair copper cable over a distance of 100 m. This ensures that the system will support IEEE 802.3an, the standard for 10GBASE-T, which requires the use of an enhanced E Class (Ea) cable.
Cat 6A can support electrical characteristics from 250 mHz to 500 mHz. Accumulated crosstalk (PS ANEXT) is also measured up to 500 MHz. This is the radiating signal on a cable by neighbouring cables; the crosstalk (NEXT) is the radiating signal by pairs in the same cable on a disrupted pair.

They have tested it...